Paralympian Anne Wafula-Strike had to wet herself on a train journey, last year, because the accessible toilet was out of order. Now, she hears from others facing similar problems. Marni Smyth has spinal muscular atrophy, and has used a power chair since she was three. She needs a hoist to get on to a toilet, and says finding accessible loos that could accommodate her needs became a daily struggle. “When I first went to university, I would avoid drinking as much as I could, because I needed to go home and leave a night out early,” she tells Anne Wafula-Strike, in the Paralympian’s report for the BBC’s Victoria Derbyshire programme. “I’d need a hoist and plinth to get changed on, and they just weren’t .” Two years ago, she took the step of undergoing surgery for which she had no medical need. She had a suprapubic catheter fitted, so she does not have to get out of her chair to go to the toilet. She says she knows others who have also had the operation, and it has “completely changed my

Source: ‘A lack of toilets led me to choose surgery’ | DisabledGo News and Blog

